(Select a country below for a different checklist)

  (Click on a country on the map for a different checklist)

  Namibia:  24 species
Heliobolus lugubris (A. SMITH, 1838)
Ichnotropis capensis (A. SMITH, 1838)
Ichnotropis grandiceps BROADLEY, 1967
Meroles anchietae (BOCAGE, 1867)
Meroles ctenodactylus (SMITH, 1838)
Meroles cuneirostris (STRAUCH, 1867)
Meroles knoxii pequensis (HEWITT, 1935)
Meroles micropholidotus (MERTENS, 1938)
Meroles reticulatus (BOCAGE, 1867)
Meroles squamulosus (PETERS, 1854)
Meroles suborbitalis (PETERS, 1869)
Nucras holubi (STEINDACHNER, 1882)
Nucras intertexta (SMITH, 1838)
Nucras tessellata (SMITH, 1838)
Pedioplanis benguellensis (BOCAGE, 1867)
Pedioplanis breviceps (STERNFELD, 1911)
Pedioplanis gaerdesi (MERTENS, 1954)
Pedioplanis husabensis BERGER-DELL´MOUR & MAYER, 1989
Pedioplanis inornata (ROUX, 1907)
Pedioplanis laticeps (SMITH, 1845)
Pedioplanis lineoocellata lineoocellata (DUMÉRIL & BIBRON, 1839)
Pedioplanis lineoocellata inocellata (MERTENS, 1955)
Pedioplanis lineoocellata pulchella (GRAY, 1845)
Pedioplanis namaquensis (DUMÉRIL & BIBRON, 1839)
Pedioplanis rubens (MERTENS, 1954)
Pedioplanis undata (SMITH, 1838)

Pedioplanis undata


Pedioplanis undata


  (SMITH, 1838)


From the Naukluft Mountains and Rehoboth north including the entire north-western quarter of Namibia with the exception of the hyper-arid coast (terrestrial). The distribution of this taxon is poorly known as it was previously regarded as extremely variable (with four described subspecies), and many specimens have not been re-examined since the various subspecies have been given fullspecies status; P. u. gaerdesi = P. gaerdesi; P. u. rubens = P. rubens; refer to Mayer & Berger-Dell`mour, 1987 & 1988. Unverified records of this species along the escarpment as far south as the Hunsberg require confirmation. This species is known or expected to occur in the Mangetti Game Camp, Etosha National Park, Waterberg Plateau Park, Von Bach Recreation Area, and the Daan Viljoen Game Park.





Pedioplanis namaquensis  © 2011 Johan Marais